Monday, June 1, 2009

8 Types of coral reefs

Barrier reef – a reef separated from a mainland or island shore by a deep lagoon.
patch reef – an isolated, often circular reef, usually within a lagoon or embayment.

Apron reef – a short reef resembling a fringing reef, but more sloped; extending out and downward from a point or peninsular shore.

Bank reef – a linear or semi-circular shaped-outine larger than a patch reef.

Ribbon reef – a long, narrow, somewhat winding reef, usually associated with an atoll lagoon.

Atoll reef – a more or less circular or continuous barrier reef extending all the way around a lagoon without a central island.
Table reef – an isolated reef, approaching an atoll type, but without a lagoon.

No comments:

Post a Comment